Keta SHTS,Awusco,Kwastech,others Qualify to Next Round of NSMQ 2017

By | June 7, 2017
The second day of the ongoing preliminary stages of the National Science & Maths Quiz, saw another six teams qualify to the round of 16, as they bid to unseat Adisadel College as champions.

The progressing schools are T.I. AMASS, Fomena SHS, Tepa SHS, Keta SHTS, Kwanyako SHS, Awudome SHS and Archbishop Porter Girls’ SHS.

The most notable development on the day was Tamale Presby SHS, finishing with no point after its contest. Keta SHTS scored the highest points on the day with 58.



The preliminary rounds will conclude Saturday, June 10, 2017, and have been simultaneously taking place at the R.S Amegashie Auditorium at the University of Ghana Business School, and the New N Block at the University of Ghana, Legon.

When it is all said and done, 108 Senior High Schools would have competed in 36 contests to pick up a slot at the next stage of the competition.

Winners of the 36 preliminary contests will join the 27 seeded schools from the 2016 edition of the competition at the one-eighth stage.

On the second day, the loser with the highest points was Toase SHS with 34, and the St. John’s Grammar School with 42 points, withNew Juaben SHS getting 39 points as the three highest losers.

Besides the 36 winners of the preliminary stage contests, 18 highest-scoring losing schools will also progress to the one-eighth stage.


A mentoring session preceded the various contests

A mentoring session preceded the contests at the various venues

The Quiz mistresses for the preliminary rounds are Dr. Angela Lamptey of the Department of Marine and Fisheries Sciences, and Mrs. Gladys Schwinger of the Department of Plant and Environmental Biology; all of the University of Ghana, Legon.


Mrs. Gladys Schwinger


Dr. Angela Lamptey

The NSMQ is sponsored by the Ghana Education Service through the Conference of Heads of Assisted Secondary Schools (CHASS), and is supported by Tigo, GOIL, Prudential Life Insurance, Accra College of Medicine and GCB Bank.

Find below the scores of the various contests:

Kwanyako SHS: 31
Yendi SHS: 16
Zabzugu SHS: 10

T.I. AMASS, Fomena: 44
St. Paul’s SHS, Denu: 33
Sogakofe SHS: 25

Awudome SHS: 38
Toase SHS: 34
Ghanass K’dua: 24

Tepa SHS: 32
Bompeh SHTS: 19
Tamale Presby SHS: 0

Archbishop Porter Girls’: 30

Bolgatanga Girls’: 22
Techiman SHS: 22

Keta SHTS: 58
Dzodze-Penyi SHS: 21
Lawra SHS: 17